Workers’ compensation insurance is designed to provide benefits to employees who are injured on the job. In New Jersey, these benefits include temporary disability pay, which can help injured workers pay their bills while they recover from their injuries. Here’s what you need to know about New Jersey workers’ compensation temporary pay.
What is temporary disability pay?
Temporary disability pay is a type of workers’ compensation benefit that provides injured workers with a portion of their lost wages while they are unable to work due to a work-related injury or illness. The amount of temporary disability pay is typically 70% of the injured worker’s average weekly wage, up to a maximum set by the state each year.
How long can you receive temporary disability pay?
In New Jersey, injured workers can receive temporary disability pay for up to 400 weeks. However, the duration of the benefit will depend on the nature and severity of the injury. In some cases, injured workers may be able to return to work on a part-time or light-duty basis while they recover, in which case their temporary disability pay may be reduced or terminated.
How is temporary disability pay calculated?
The amount of temporary disability pay you can receive is based on your average weekly wage. To calculate your average weekly wage, your earnings from the 26 weeks prior to your injury will be added together and divided by 26. This will give you your average weekly wage, which will be used to determine the amount of temporary disability pay you can receive.
What if your temporary disability pay is not enough?
In some cases, injured workers may find that their temporary disability pay is not enough to cover their bills and expenses while they are unable to work. In these cases, injured workers may be able to receive additional benefits through other sources, such as Social Security disability benefits, private disability insurance, or other government programs.
In conclusion, temporary disability pay is an important benefit that can help injured workers in New Jersey pay their bills while they recover from a work-related injury or illness. If you’ve been injured on the job, it’s important to understand your rights and the benefits you’re entitled to under New Jersey workers’ compensation law.
If you have any questions or concerns about your benefits or the claims process, consult with the EDER LAW FIRM who have attorneys that specialize in New Jersey’s Workers Compensation law. Or call Today (732) 937-9100!